The City of Edmonton Youth Council's mandate is to provide information and advice to Council in relation to issues involving or affecting youth.

The City of Edmonton Youth Council (CEYC) performs these functions:

  • Research and write policy proposals for Council's review
  • Coordinate community events that profile local youth issues
  • Receive direction from Council on work or reports it requires on youth matters
  • Develop and maintain relationships with individuals and organizations addressing issues of concern to youth
  • Promote initiatives to support the well-being of youth
  • Educate youth on City governance, procedures and policy making
  • Provide networking opportunities for youth
  • Consult with City administration and other organizations supporting youth initiatives
  • Establish the General Assembly, maintain the registry of individuals participating in the General Assembly and oversee its meetings
  • If requested by Council, recommend individuals for appointment to the City's civic agencies, and
  • Inform Council of initiatives of other levels of government that could affect youth and advocate for the City in the manner directed by Council, if Council directs.

Information about Serving on the Youth Council


2020-CEYC-Member Recruitment Profile (As information - Not currently accepting applications for Youth Council Members)


Youth Council meetings are always open for all members of the public to attend. Youth Council meets the first Wednesday of the month 5:30 – 8:30pm. Meetings currently are online due to COVID-19. If anyone wishes to attend the meetings, please email to request access to the meeting.


Council Advisor

Name of Appointee First Appointed Term
Councillor Andrew Knack Oct 29/13 2017-2021 Council Term

Citizen Members

Name of Appointees First Appointed Term Expiry Date
Reetu Arvikar Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Cherry Chen Sep 1/19 Aug 31/21
Irmen Dhami Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Kasey Enokson   Sep 6/16 Aug 31/21
Sarah Freeman Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Manujitha Herath Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Ryan Jacques Sep 1/19 Aug 31/21
Zaharadeen Jimoh Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Fajr Khaliqdina Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Anuj Krishnan  (Vice-Chair) Sep 1/19 Aug 31/21
Avanideep Ladhar Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Ricky Liu  (Chair) Sep 1/19 Aug 31/21
Quynh Anh Nguyen Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Lakshmi Peddi Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Irshad Sayed Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Achyutha Surukanti Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Robyn Taylor Sep 1/18 Aug 31/21
Pram Thennakoonwela Oct 19/20 Aug 31/21
Ahdithya Visweswaran Dec 7/20 Aug 31/21