Main page content begins here

Energy Transition Committee

The Energy Transition Climate Resilience Committee is made up of 15 Edmontonians who serve a two-year term and help implement the plan outlined in Edmonton’s Community Energy Transition Strategy, approved by Council in April 2015.

The Committee encourages and promotes the strategy, provides advice to Council regarding the implementation of the strategy and assists Council in developing performance measures. The committee provides a wide and strategic perspective on issues relating to energy transition and climate resilience in Edmonton.

Information about Serving on the Board


On August 25, 2015, City Council approved City Policy C585, Edmonton’s Community Energy Transition Strategy. The Energy Transition Climate Resilience Committee
is a committee that has been established to advise Council on the implementation of the Strategy and City Policy C585. Committee members serve in a voluntary capacity for two-year terms, (from May 1 to April 30) renewable to a maximum of six consecutive years.

Creation of the Committee aligns with corporate goals outlined in The Way We Green:

  • Edmonton’s sources and uses of energy are sustainable
  • Edmonton is resilient to disturbances that could affect its energy supplies and distribution system
  • Edmonton is a carbon-neutral city
  • Edmonton is resilient to disturbances from climate change

The Energy Transition Climate Resilience Committee's establishment, mandate and terms of reference are outlined in Bylaw 18881.


Council Advisors

Name of Appointees First Appointed Term
Councillors Ben Henderson & Michael Walters Dec 5/17 2017-2021 Council Term


Additional information on current ETCRC members.

Citizen Members

Name of Appointees First Appointed Term Expiry Date
Ahsan Ahmed May 01/18 Apr 30/20
Peter Amerongen Apr 19/16 Apr 30/20
Gregory Caldwell Apr 19/16 Apr 30/20
David Dodge  (Co-Chair) Apr 19/16 Apr 30/20
Chelsey Donelon  (Co-Chair) May 01/18 Apr 30/20
Michael Fleischauer Apr 19/16 Apr 30/20
Marc Huot Apr 19/16 Apr 30/20
Shafraaz Kaba Apr 19/16 Apr 30/20
Jacob Komar May 01/18 Apr 30/20
Kalen Pilkington May 01/18 Apr 30/20
Klaas Rodenburg Apr 19/16 Apr 30/20
Chris Vilcsak Apr 19/16 Apr 30/20
Geoffrey Wagner Apr 19/16 Apr 30/20
Sheena Wilson May 01/18 Apr 30/20


Read the minutes and attachments of previous meetings.
Calendar & Resources

Upcoming Meetings

  • January 16, 2020
  • June 11, 2020
  • March 12, 2020
  • May 7, 2020
  • November 5, 2020
  • September 17, 2020

Call 780-944-0316 for meeting details or to request to speak at the meeting.

For More Information

Barbara Daly

Title Project Manager



End of page content. Please choose between the following five options:

Back to main menu Back to current page menu and content View current page breadcrumb Back to site search Continue to page footer content