In August of 2022, the City of Edmonton chose to implement a nine-month pause on combative sports events to allow for City administration to undertake a full risk assessment on the City’s involvement in sanctioning and oversight of combative sports events in Edmonton. 

It is expected that this risk assessment will be completed by May of 2023 and a recommendation will be brought to Edmonton City administration to help inform its decision on the continuation of regulatory oversight of combative sports in the City of Edmonton.

The City of Edmonton is hoping to have combative sports stakeholders share feedback and insights that will be used to inform a City of Edmonton "What We Heard" report, submitted to Edmonton City administration. 

If you are interested in sharing feedback, please complete this online survey


The Edmonton Combative Sports Commission (ECSC) is a Council Committee composed of up to 7 volunteer citizen members. This governance body operates within the jurisdiction established by City Council through the Edmonton Combative Sports Commission Bylaw 15638. The ECSC supplements the regulatory provisions in the Combative Sports Bylaw 15594 through further regulations on combative sports matters such as licensing, conduct, qualifications and contests. The ECSC also serves as an appeal body for decisions made by the Executive Director regarding licensing and permitting.          

Executive Director

The Executive Director is an employee of the City and, pursuant to Bylaw 15638, is responsible for all operational decisions about combative sports in Edmonton. The Executive Director is not a member of the ECSC; however, the ECSC's regulations set additional rules to be applied by the Executive Director and other combative sports officials.   

Information about Serving on the Commission

Online applications to fill Commission vacancies are accepted in the annual December/January Recruitment Campaign.        


Citizen Members

Trevor Kelly  (Chair)

First Appointed: May 1, 2019
Term Expiry: April 30, 2023

Tye Babb (Vice-Chair)

First Appointed: May 1, 2019
Term Expiry: April 30, 2023


Sandy Bugeja 

First Appointed: May 1, 2017
Term Expiry: April 30, 2023


Kevin Malahy

First Appointed: May 1, 2021
Term Expiry: April 30, 2023


Daniela O'Callaghan

First Appointed: May 1, 2018
Term Expiry: April 30, 2024

Nateram Seecharan 

First Appointed: May 1, 2022
Term Expiry: April 30, 2024


Graham Smith 

First Appointed: May 1, 2021
Term Expiry: April 30, 2023


Board Member Roles and Responsibilities



2023 Meetings

Commission meets the second Monday of each month.

Location: TBD
Time: 7pm

Meeting ID:
Phone Numbers (‪CA‬)‪+1 587-977-0928‬ PIN: ‪135 849 612#‬

Meeting Date Agenda Minutes
January 9 Agenda  
February 13 Agenda  
March 13 Agenda  
April 17    
May 8    
June 12    
July 10    
August 14    
September 11    
October 16    
November 20    
December 11    

Past Meeting Resources


Meeting Date Agenda Minutes
January 10 Agenda Minutes
February 16 Agenda Minutes
March 14 Agenda Minutes
April 11 Agenda Minutes
May 9 Agenda Minutes
June 13 Agenda Minutes
July 11 Agenda Minutes
August 8 Agenda Minutes
September 1st Agenda Minutes
September 12 Agenda Minutes
October 17 Agenda Minutes
November 14 Agenda Minutes
December 12 Cancelled  



Meeting Date Agenda Minutes
January 11* Agenda Minutes
February 8* Agenda Minutes
March 8* Agenda Minutes
April 12* Agenda Minutes

April 19*

Agenda Minutes

Monday, May 10, 2021 from 6-9pm

ECSC Licence Appeal Hearing 

Executive Director Licensing Decision — 388738876-001 Promoter Licence Refusal  

Hearing is open to the general public. Only representatives related to the appeal are presenting to the Hearing Panel.



May 17*

Agenda Minutes
June 14* Agenda Minutes
July 12* Agenda Minutes
August 9 - Cancelled    
September 13 Agenda Minutes
October 18 Agenda Minutes
November 8 Agenda Minutes

December 13

Agenda Minutes

* Meeting was held virtually