Aerial view of Edmonton

Find out more about Edmonton’s annexation of land south of its existing boundary to accommodate future growth.

On January 1, 2019, two areas of land from Leduc County and the Town of Beaumont became part of Edmonton. Residents of those areas are now Edmontonians.

Information on the annexation application, timeline and public engagement is available below. Learn more about how the transition affects residents living in the annexed area.

Amendment to Order in Council 359/2018

The Land and Property Rights Tribunal is currently dealing with an issue delegated to them by the Minister of Municipal Affairs to decide whether there was an error in the original Order in Council by including a specific piece of land as part of the Discovery Lands (land that receives special property tax protection).

Getting Ready for Growth

From 2012 to 2014, Edmonton grew by 7.4% or more than 60,000 people. 

To ensure that we have enough land to accommodate growth, the City of Edmonton annexed land south of the boundary.

The annexed area includes 8,260 hectares agreed upon by Leduc County, and 7 hectares for part of the road right of way for 50 Street that was  uncontested from the Town of Beaumont.


The Municipal Government Board held hearings on the application and made a recommendation to the Province. The Province made a decision to approve the annexation on November 27, 2018. The annexation took effect January 1, 2019.

Map showing Leduc County and Beaumont Annexation Area

Leduc County and Beaumont Annexation Area Map

View the proposed annexation area.