

#### **MINUTES**

Tuesday, November 30, 2021

All

MEMBERS: PRESENT:

Ms. Erin McDonald, Chair

Ms. Carrie-Ann Lunde, Vice-Chair

Ms. Debra Ayling

Mr. Matthew Dance

Ms. Alyssa Lefebvre

Ms. Marla Miller

Ms. Maryanne Wiebe

**ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:** 

Mr. Cory Sousa, Administration

Ms. Ashley Rowan, Administration

CALL TO ORDER: 4:18 p.m.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

**Motion:** Miller

That the November 30, 2021 Naming Committee Agenda be adopted.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Lefebvre, Lunde, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously

**ADOPTION OF MINUTES** 

**Motion:** Wiebe

That the October 26, 2021 Naming Committee Minutes be adopted

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Lefebvre, Lunde, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously



#### **OLD BUSINESS**

## 1. Request to name a neighbourhood park located in the Keswick Neighbourhood

**Motion:** Miller

That the Naming Committee approves the naming of a neighbourhood park located at 1707 - 182 Street SW, legally described as Plan 2027754, Block 3, Lot 27MR, within the Keswick Neighbourhood as "Joey Moss Park"

**For the Motion:** Ayling, Dance, Lefebvre, Lunde, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

2. Request to name the primary neighbourhood park located in the Keswick Neighbourhood

**Motion:** Dance

That the Naming Committee approves the naming of the primary neighbourhood park located at 1101 and 1140 - Keswick Drive SW, legally described as Lot 10MR, Block 11, Plan 1622716 and Lot 26MR, Block 1, Plan 192025, within the Keswick Neighbourhood as "**Keswick Park**".

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Lefebvre, Lunde, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously

## **OTHER BUSINESS**

# 3. Presentation on Edmonton's Place Names Gender Analysis

**Motion:** McDonald

That the Naming Committee receives the report by Matthew Dance as information.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Lefebvre, Lunde, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously



**Motion:** McDonald

That the Naming Committee establish a subcommittee to explore how to better reflect diversity through naming.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Lefebvre, Lunde, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously

# 4. Land Acknowledgement

**Motion:** Lunde

That the Naming Committee receives the item as information.

For the Motion: Ayling, Dance, Lefebvre, Lunde, McDonald, Miller, Wiebe

Carried unanimously

## NEXT MEETING AND ADJOURNMENT

Next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, January 25, 2022

Adjournment: 5:20 p.m.