Main page content begins here

Public input has played an essential role in shaping the Valley Line LRT, from the identification of the corridor in 2009 through the development of the concept plan to the completion of preliminary design in 2013. Thousands of Edmontonians have been engaged through meetings, presentations, open houses and online. As part of its ongoing commitment to public engagement, the City of Edmonton is establishing Citizen Working Groups in five distinct zones along the LRT alignment as a major method of engaging with impacted communities during procurement, detailed design and construction of the Valley Line LRT.

Agendas & Minutes
Meeting Date Citizen Working Group Agenda Minutes
August 2, 2016 Zone "A" August 2 Agenda Will be posted when available
July 27, 2016 Zone "E" July 27 Agenda Will be posted when available

Meeting Date Citizen Working Group Agenda Minutes
July 7, 2016 Zone "B" July 7 Agenda Will be posted when available
February 1, 2016 Zone "C" February 1 Agenda Will be posted when available
January 26, 2016 Zone "D" January 26 Agenda Will be posted when available
December 21, 2015 Zone "E" December 21 Agenda December 21 Minutes
December 15, 2015 Zone "A" December 15 Agenda December 15 Minutes
December 7, 2015 Zone "B" December 7 Agenda December 7 Minutes
August 11, 2015 Zone "B" August 11 Agenda August 11 Minutes           
August 10, 2015 Zone "A" August 10 Agenda August 10 Minutes
July 16, 2015 Zone "E" July 16 Agenda July 16 Minutes
July 15, 2015 Zone "C" July 15 Agenda July 15 Minutes
July 13, 2015 Zone "D" July 13 Agenda July 13 Minutes

Membership & Recruitment

For organizational purposes, the Valley Line route has been divided into five zones:

  • Zone “A” (Downtown)
  • Zone “B” (River Valley)
  • Zone “C” (85/83 Street Corridor)
  • Zone “D” (Whitemud)
  • Zone “E” (Mill Woods)

The City has been asking key organizations to designate representatives, and has invited the participation of the public at large to establish groups of 12-15 members. Public meetings to recruit members from the public at large occurred during the month of June. Those attending selected members from amongst themselves, as well as additional names to be placed on a reserve list. As a result of input received at these sessions, group guidelines and zone boundaries may be adjusted as the Citizen Working Groups are implemented.

Zone "A" (Downtown) public recruitment meeting presentation, Boyle Street Community Hall, June 11, 2015

Zone “A” Citizen Working Group current members
Chinese Benevolent Association Allan Kwan
Downtown Edmonton Community League Ian O'Donnell
Downtown Edmonton Community League Lindsey Trufyn
Edmonton City Centre Lindsay Whyte
Edmonton Downtown Business Association Jim Taylor
Boyle Street Community League Nancy Chan
Boyle Street Community League Maria Snip
Edmonton Chamber of Commerce Brent Francis
Churchill Square Festivals Shelley Switzer
Arts District Sally Kim
Public at Large Alf White
Public at Large Bill Patrick
Seniors at Large Young Quan

Zone "B" (River Valley) public recruitment meeting presentation, Old Timer’s Cabin, June 2, 2015

Zone “B” Citizen Working Group current members
Riverdale Community League David Kahane
Riverdale Community League Jodine Chase
Riverdale Community League Sandra Sperounes
Cloverdale Community League Glenn Selland
Cloverdale Community League Peter McFarlane
Strathearn Community League Jason Yeung
Strathearn Community League Dan Jancewicz
Bonnie Doon Community League Nancy Rempel
Bonnie Doon Community League Andrew Leach
Edmonton Ski Club Ken Saunders
Edmonton Folk Festival Bob Meyer
Public at Large Lorrie Deutscher
Public at Large Matt Knight
Seniors at Large Young Quan

Zone "C" (85/83 Street Corridor) public recruitment meeting presentation, Bonnie Doon Community Hall, June 3, 2015

Zone “C” Citizen Working Group current members
Bonnie Doon Community League Jon Lai
Bonnie Doon Community League Shauna Kuiper
King Edward Community League Scott Wylie
King Edward Community League Sarah Guenter
Idylwylde Community League Marcus Nordin
Idylwylde Community League Eric Flanagan
Holyrood Community League Michael Chocho
Holyrood Community League Geoff Harder
French Quarters BIA Jean Johnson
Seniors Community Karen Sheridan
École publique Gabrielle-Roy Jean-Daniel Trembley
Public at Large Brad Wotherspoon
Public at Large Bryan Zuck

Zone "D" (Whitemud) public recruitment meeting presentation, Argyll Community Hall, June 8, 2015

Zone “D” Citizen Working Group current members
Avonmore Community League Shane Thompson
Avonmore Community League Ken Stadt
Public at Large Tague Chisholm
Public at Large Jacqueline Landry

Zone "E" (Mill Woods) public recruitment meeting presentation, North Millbourne Community Hall, June 18, 2015

Zone “E” Citizen Working Group current members
North Millbourne Community League Leigh Makarewicz*
North Millbourne Community League Mariah Samji*
Leefield Community League Mitch Baxter
Woodvale Community League Dennis Emmerling*
Woodvale Community League Al Aben*
Lakewood Community League Charles Penney
MCARFA Joan Kirillo
Mill Woods Town Centre Linda Shute
Public at Large Michael Neuherz
Public at Large Paul Conway

*Alternating co-members

Purpose & Guidelines

The purpose of the Citizen Working Groups is to provide the Valley Line LRT project team and the affected communities with a means to:

  • Build and maintain relationships and trust
  • Promote and support community engagement opportunities
  • Facilitate information-sharing and dialogue
  • Support the identification of issues, opportunities and concerns
  • Seek opportunities to minimize and mitigate impacts related to detailed design and construction

These groups are designed to be neighbourhood-focused and organized to reflect the common characteristics and interests of five distinct zones along the corridor from Downtown to Mill Woods. They will supplement, rather than replace, ongoing stakeholder relations activities involving geographically broader-based organizations and interests.

Members are volunteers reflecting a cross-section of the community. The intention is to have the groups function until the Valley Line begins service, with group membership and composition reviewed annually.

The groups themselves will be involved in completing their detailed operational guidelines, with members expected to:

  • Understand/share local knowledge & interests
  • Operate in an atmosphere of mutual respect & trust
  • Support overall best interests of the community
  • Treat participation as a commitment

For More Information

Future LRT General Inquiries

City of Edmonton

Telephone 780-496-4874

End of page content. Please choose between the following five options:

Back to main menu Back to current page menu and content View current page breadcrumb Back to site search Continue to page footer content