Main page content begins here

2017 Committee Mandate

Bylaw 18119 re-establishes the Independent Council Compensation Committee with a narrow mandate to review the salary of Council in light of economic changes, recent federal tax legislation eliminating the non-taxable option, and current municipal comparables.

The Committee has been directed to provide a report with recommendations for the August 29, 2017, City Council meeting.

Meeting Date Time Location
July 7, 2017 2pm City Clerk Boardroom

2017 Members

  • Phyllis Clark
  • Dan McKinley
  • George Andrews
  • Paul Precht
  • Shelley Ewart-Johnson

The 2012/13 Committee terminated on August 31, 2013 as per Bylaw 15969

At the December 14, 2011, City Council meeting, Bylaw 15969 was passed, establishing a new Independent Council Compensation Committee. The Committee was comprised of five citizen members appointed by the City Manager. During their term, committee members reviewed and made recommendations on the remuneration provided to Members of Council, including base salary, other forms of compensation, benefits, pensions, other allowances and market adjustment policies. The Committee reported its recommendations on January 23, 2013.

Meeting Date Minutes
December 19, 2012 Minutes
November 6, 2012 Minutes
October 16, 2012 Minutes
September 20, 2012 Minutes
July 16, 2012 Minutes
June 25, 2012 Minutes
June 11, 2012 Minutes
April 26, 2012 Minutes

2012/13 Members

  • Phyllis Clark (Chair)
  • Dan McKinley (Vice-Chair)
  • George Andrews
  • Paul Precht
  • Shelley Ewart-Johnson

For More Information

Office of the City Clerk

3rd floor, City Hall
1 Sir Winston Churchill Square
Edmonton, AB  T5J 2R7

Telephone 780-496-8178
Fax 780-496-8175

End of page content. Please choose between the following five options:

Back to main menu Back to current page menu and content View current page breadcrumb Back to site search Continue to page footer content