Edmonton Opens Two New LRT Stations

South LRT New Tunnel

April 24, 2010

Southgate and Century Park LRT stations completed thanks to partnership funding

A new era in Edmonton’s transportation history has begun. Edmontonians can now travel 20.3 kilometres from Clareview Station in north Edmonton to Century Park Station in south Edmonton on Light Rail Transit (LRT). Efficient and environmentally responsible, LRT service transports commuters quickly and quietly and takes cars off roads.

Laurie Hawn, MP for Edmonton Centre and Parliamentary Secretary for National Defence, on behalf of Canada’s Transport and Infrastructure Minister John Baird, Premier Ed Stelmach, Province of Alberta, and Mayor Stephen Mandel officially opened Southgate and Century Park LRT Stations. Funding for the extension of the South LRT from Health Sciences Station was provided by the Government of Canada, the Province of Alberta and the City of Edmonton.

“Our government recognizes the importance of investing in sustainable infrastructure projects such as the South Edmonton LRT expansion,” said MP Hawn. “This expansion will not only reduce air pollution and traffic congestion, it will provide citizens of South Edmonton with an efficient and affordable means of transportation. This project is yet another example of what federal programs like the Gas Tax Fund and the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund can achieve when we work together to support the infrastructure needs of local communities in Edmonton and across Canada.”

“These two new LRT stations will go a long way to improve the quality of life for Edmontonians and visitors, and give them easy access to places like the University of Alberta, hospitals, and downtown offices,” said Premier Stelmach. “The ability to quickly and efficiently move people around is a hallmark of a modern city and is the way of the future.”

"This is a very exciting day for Edmontonians," said Mayor Mandel. "Opening this line helps us maximize our ability to move our citizens effectively while minimizing our environmental impact. The new stations make the connection between the communities of the north and south and are an important step towards connecting our entire city with an integrated transit system.”

Construction of the 7.6-kilometre extension of the LRT from Health Sciences to Century Park began in January 2006. McKernan/Belgravia and South Campus stations were opened in April 2009. Regular LRT service from Southgate and Century Park begins April 25, 2010.

The federal contribution to this project comes from the Gas Tax Fund and the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund.  The Gas Tax Fund delivers infrastructure funding to local governments and other eligible recipients primarily for projects that lead to cleaner air, cleaner water or reduced greenhouse gas emissions. Between 2007 and 2014 the Government of Canada will provide $1.2 billion to Alberta through the Gas Tax Fund.

The $4 billion Infrastructure Stimulus Fund provides funding to provincial, territorial and municipal construction-ready infrastructure projects. Overall, the Government of Canada has invested well over $400 million under the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund across Alberta.

For more information, including financial information, see the South LRT Fact Sheet at: http://www.edmonton.ca/transportation/SLRTFactSheet.pdf

For a gallery of downloadable pictures related to South LRT, please visit: http://photos.edmonton.ca/Transportation/South-LRT

For further information on the Government of Canada’s infrastructure investments in Alberta, visit http://www.creatingjobs.gc.ca/.

To learn more about Canada’s Economic Action Plan, visit http://www.actionplan.gc.ca/.

City of Edmonton Logo

Copyright © 2012, City of Edmonton.