Popular Searches
  • Big Bin Events
  • Business Licensing
  • Eco Stations
  • Movies on the Square
  • Pay Tickets
  • Permits
  • Spray Parks

Contact Us Visiting? Mostly Cloudy -2°

LRT Line Names Approved


January 31, 2013

Capital Line, Metro Line, Energy Line, Valley Line and Festival Line chosen

The City of Edmonton’s Naming Committee has chosen the names for the city’s 5 current and future LRT lines.

The following names have been assigned to the LRT lines:

Capital Line NE Edmonton to Heritage Valley (partially completed)
Metro Line St. Albert to Health Sciences LRT Station (in progress)
Energy Line Lewis Farms to Sherwood Park (planned)
Valley Line Lewis Farms to Ellerslie (planned)
Festival Line Sherwood Park to Ellerslie (planned)

Edmonton Transit System (ETS) received over 900 submissions from the public for names for the LRT lines as part of a contest it held in 2012. A short list of names was provided to Leger Marketing for an extensive market research evaluation.

“We were very pleased to see the level of interest and variety of names we received from the public on this important project,” said Nathan Walters, ETS Marketing Group. “Public transit plays a role in shaping the image and reputation of a city, and this process gave Edmontonians a unique opportunity to play a role in how we want Edmonton to be identified.”

The final recommendations were unanimously approved by the City of Edmonton Naming Committee on January 21, 2013.

"We are delighted that so many citizens were involved in suggesting names for our future LRT System lines," said Cory Sousa, City planner, who works with the Naming Committee. "Naming our LRT System lines is an important part of growing our city."

The Naming Committee approves names for municipal facilities, new neighbourhoods, parks and roads.

Starting in 2013, ETS customers will be seeing these line names appear in a variety of print, promotional and way-finding materials.

For more information:

Carol Hurst

Title Senior Communications Advisor, Communications